Serving the Horticulture Industry
1899 - 2020
This site is dedicated to preserving the legacy of the Southern Nursery Association.
Southern Nurserymen's Association Annual Convention, Atlanta, GA, 1916

Listed below are 117 industry members that have served as SNA President over the past 117 years (1899 - 2018). Their tenure on the SNA Board represents six years of service to the association and the industry with exception to N.W. Hale (1899 and 1900), Tom Dodd, Sr. (1942 and 1943), M.L. Harkey (1944 and 1945), and Bill Boyd (2006, 2012 and 2013). We would like to thank all of those whom have served for their leadership and wisdom that has helped this association survive for more than 100 years.


2020    Rickey Minton Tennessee

2019    Joseph Napoli Georgia Baltimore, MD

2018    Norman Cole, III      West Virginia Baltimore, MD

2017    Dusty Knight   Alabama          Athens, GA

2016    Michael Hobbs Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

2015    Richard May    Florida Atlanta, GA

2014    Jeffry O. Howell          Mississippi      Atlanta, GA

2013    William J. "Bill" Boyd  Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

2012    William J. "Bill" Boyd  Tennessee       Mobile, AL

2011    Randy Bracy    Louisiana         Mobile, AL

2010    George Hackney         Georgia           Mobile, AL

2009    Eelco Tinga      North Carolina Atlanta, GA

2008    Bill Turk           Alabama          Atlanta, GA

2007    D.E. "Skeetter" McCorkle       Georgia           Atlanta, GA

2006    William J. Boyd           Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

2005    Wayne K. Sawyer        Virginia            Atlanta, GA

2004    Daniel B. Batson         Mississippi      Atlanta, GA

2003    James A. "J." Guy        South Carolina Atlanta, GA

2002    Frank M. Collier          Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

2001    Wilfred L. "Red" Robbins        North Carolina Atlanta, GA

2000    Walter M. Imahara     Louisiana         Atlanta, GA

1999    William D. "Bill" Reese            Florida Atlanta, GA

1998    James M. Zangger       Oklahoma       Atlanta, GA

1997    John C. Watkins          Virginia            Atlanta, GA

1996    William H. "Buzz" Barton        Alabama          Atlanta, GA

1995    Arthur A. "Buck" Jones           Georgia           Atlanta, GA

1994    Don O. Shadow           Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

1993    Larry D. Edwards         North Carolina Atlanta, GA

1992    J. Fred Fisher, II           Mississippi      Atlanta, GA

1991    Robert A. Jenkins        South Carolina Atlanta, GA

1990    Louis Hillenmeyer, III  Kentucky         Atlanta, GA

1989    C. Fletcher Flemer, III  Virginia            Atlanta, GA

1988    Frank B. Akin   Louisiana         Atlanta, GA

1987    Fount H. May, Sr.        Florida Atlanta, GA

1986    Frank H. Colvett          Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

1985    Ronald W. Copeland   North Carolina Atlanta, GA

1984    David Byers     Alabama          Atlanta, GA

1983    Richard J. Hackney      Georgia           Atlanta, GA

1982    Clinton J. Korfhage      Kentucky         Atlanta, GA

1981    Norman H. Cole, Jr.     West Virginia  Atlanta, GA

1980    Dennis V. McCloskey  Louisiana         Atlanta, GA

1979    William J. Park South Carolina Atlanta, GA

1978    A.D. Cartwright, Jr.     Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

1977    David E. Laird, Jr.        Virginia            Atlanta, GA

1976    Billy Martinson           Mississippi      Atlanta, GA

1975    R.E. "Ed" Brown          Florida Atlanta, GA

1974    Richard L. Ammon      Kentucky         Atlanta, GA

1973    Warren Redd  North Carolina Atlanta, GA

1972    Bill Barton       Alabama          Atlanta, GA

1971    Cecil F. Hill      Georgia           Atlanta, GA

1970    Geddes Douglas          Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

1969    Arthur J. Lancaster, Jr. Virginia            Atlanta, GA

1968    Sidney B. Meadows    Alabama          Atlanta, GA

1967    Dwight Cain    South Carolina Atlanta, GA

1966    Robert H. Hillenmeyer            Kentucky         New Orleans, LA

1965    David E. Laird  Virginia            Norfolk, VA

1964    Ray Bass          Mississippi      Charlotte, NC

1963    James M. Patterson    Georgia           Mobile, AL

1962    Robert Boyd    Tennessee       Lexington, KY

1961    George M. Coulter      North Carolina Memphis, TN

1960    Edwin G. Fraser           Florida Atlanta, GA

1959    Hubert Nicholson        Tennessee       Jacksonville, FL

1958    Dan Reynolds  North Carolina Richmond, VA

1957    Jack Aichele    South Carolina Charleston, SC

1956    George Sawada           Alabama          Nashville, TN

1955    Hoskins Shadow          Tennessee       Asheville, NC

1954    Arthur N. Watson       Florida Jacksonville, FL

1953    James A. Stubbs          Georgia           Atlanta, GA

1952    A.S. Gresham, Jr.         Virginia            Mobile, AL

1951    C. Elwood Stephens    Florida Richmond, VA

1950    W.C. Daniels   North Carolina Charleston, SC

1949    Charles N. Morse        Tennessee       Chattanooga, TN

1948    Donald Hastings, Sr.    Georgia           Huntsville, AL

1947    Henry Homer Chase   Alabama          Atlanta, GA

1946    Henry N. Boyd Tennessee       Greensboro, NC

1945    M.L. Harkey     North Carolina Atlanta, GA

1944    M.L. Harkey     North Carolina Convention Suspended

1943    Tom Dodd, Sr. Alabama          Atlanta, GA

1942    Tom Dodd, Sr. Alabama          Convention Suspended

1941    W.W. Hillenmeyer, Jr. Kentucky         Lexington, KY

1940    J.B. Wight        Georgia           Charlotte, NC

1939    J.Y. Killian        North Carolina Huntsville, AL

1938    C.M. Smith      Georgia           Atlanta, GA

1937    Richard H. Jones         Tennessee       Nashville, TN

1936    E.E. Chattin     Tennessee       Miami, FL

1935    W.L. Monroe   Georgia           Atlanta, GA

1934    L.M. Jones       Virginia            Asheville, NC

1933    Owen G. Wood           Virginia            Jacksonville, Beach, FL

1932    C.R. Stephens  Florida Chattanooga, TN

1931    J.S. Wight        Georgia           Huntsville, AL

1930    S.R. Howell      Tennessee       Norfolk, VA

1929    Norman Nicholson      Tennessee       Birmingham, AL

1928    C.T. Smith        Georgia           Memphis, TN

1927    John Fraser, Jr.            Alabama          Jacksonville, FL

1926    Lee McClain    Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

1925    J.G. Bailie        Georgia           Knoxville, TN

1924    W.W. Hillenmeyer      Kentucky         Greensboro, NC

1923    O. Joe Howard North Carolina Atlanta, GA

1922    C.A. Simpson   Florida Lexington, KY

1921    Paul C. Lindley North Carolina Chattanooga, TN

1920    S.W. Crowell   Mississippi      Charleston, SC

1919    H.C. Caldwell   Georgia           Atlanta, GA

1918    O.W. Fraser     Alabama          Birmingham, AL

1917    Harry Nicholson          Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

1916    A.I. Smith        Tennessee       Atlanta, GA

1915    R.C. Simpson   Florida Hendersonville, NC

1914    H.M. Templeton, Sr.   Tennessee       Signal Mountain, TN

1913    O. Joe Howard North Carolina Monteagle, TN

1912    E.W. Chattin    Tennessee       Augusta, GA

1911    W.A. Easterly  Tennessee       Greensboro, NC

1910    R.C. Berckmans           Georgia           Knoxville, TN

1909    H.B. Chase       Alabama          Huntsville, AL

1908    C.T. Smith        Georgia           Atlanta, GA

1907    J.A. Young       North Carolina Richmond, VA

1906    Orlando Harrison        Maryland        Lookout Mountain, TN

1905    C.T. Smith        Georgia           Norfolk, VA

1904    J.C. Hale          Tennessee       Asheville, NC

1903    G.H. Miller      Georgia           Winchester, TN

1902    J. Van Lindley  North Carolina Charleston, SC

1901    W.T. Hood       Virginia            Asheville, TN

1900    N.W. Hale        Tennessee       Lithia Springs, GA

1899    N.W. Hale        Tennessee       Chattanooga, TN

Southern Nursery Association
PO Box 801454
Acworth, GA 30101
tel  678.809.9992   |   fax 678.809.9993